Mohs on the Nose

Day 6 Post-Op

Posted on: June 24, 2010

Morning

I’m feeling a little bitchy today, so it’s a good thing I’m home alone – well, as alone as you can be with two dogs and two cats. Fortunately, they all sleep most of the day, so there’s no aggravation there.

My dermatologist, “Dr. R.,” called this morning to check on me. Even he was surprised at the extent to which my BCC had spread. The good news was that he told me not to be discouraged when I see my nose tomorrow. He said the reason he sends his Mohs patients to “Dr. M.,” the surgeon, is because his patients’ results are “excellent.” As I mentioned before, Dr. R. and I go way back, so I’ll believe what he says until I have reason not to.

In less than 24 hours, my bandage comes off. No more foggy glasses; no more having my glasses sit too high on my nose because of the bandage; no more not being able to wipe my nose; no more getting my beak into whatever I happen to be drinking or eating; oh, the plusses are endless! Thinking ahead to having that bandage off, I made a couple of T’s on cafepress this morning. I’m hoping that when I wear them, questions about – and stares at – my nose will be limited somewhat. At least people will know I didn’t screw it up snorting meth (or whatever you do with it).

My New T-Shirts

Afternoon

Uh-oh. As I was washing my face, my finger got caught in my bandage and pulled it away from my face. I SWEAR! All that’s underneath is a swollen nose with a wide piece of white tape on it – nothing exciting. I searched high and low for some gauze to re-do my bandage, but I didn’t have any. Rest assured, I’m not going to the store to get any, either. I took a cotton makeup remover pad, folded it in half and taped it over my nose for that added bit of protection until my appointment tomorrow. Sure, I’ll prolly be scolded by Dr. M., but I’m used to that. I have a slight problem following rules, but isn’t that expected of someone who was expelled from a religious boarding school for insubordination? 😉

My little brother in St. Louis sent me flowers today. They did a pretty good job of snapping me out of “bitchy” mode:-) Seriously, how can you look at something so cheerful and not be cheered up?

Thank you, Little Brother!

And while I’m at it, here’s a pic of the roses one of my gal pals sent last week. The caption is what the card said. This friend can *always* be counted on to make me smile:-)

"Mohs On The Nose Deserves A Rose"

Leave a Reply

Sapphire Maiden

Recent Posts

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

