Mohs on the Nose

Dirty Little Lies

Posted on: June 27, 2010

Yesterday I stumbled upon a website about sunscreens and how the companies use “weasel words” to make consumers think they’re safe. I’ve had a hard time finding a moisturizer with sunscreen in it because they all seem to make my eyes water by the end of the day. The last bottle I bought came from Whole Foods. The salesperson and I spent at least half an hour sampling the different formulas until I found one I liked. It’s SPF 15, but since I’m not in the sun that much, 15 is ok. Well guess what? That new sunscreen is a no-no according to this website. They use a rating system from 0-10, with 0-2 being the best. My new sunscreen is a 5, which falls into the “Caution” category. It provides “poor” UVA protection and “moderate” UVB protection. Remember, UVA rays are the ones that actually cause skin damage.

The score for my Bareminerals® makeup is even worse; it scored a 7, which landed it on the “avoid” list. Bareminerals® Sunscreen SPF 30 is also a 7. That’s pretty much like wearing no sunscreen at all. What’s a fair-skinned lass like me supposed to do? Research, darling. Research. So I did, and I decided to try Keys Soap Solar Rx Cosmetic Moisturizing Sunblock, SPF 30. It’s risky buying it online, since I don’t get to try it first, but I’m thinking positive thoughts that it will work just fine.

I had my first shower today without having to waterproof my nose. Dr. M. said to take off the bandage, slather on a layer of Aquaphor beforehand and not let the shower fall directly on my face. Worked like a charm. Clean hair and a clean bandage, and I’m ready to go…read a book.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

2 Responses to "Dirty Little Lies"

Glad to hear you are on the mend. Hang in there. BTW. If that were me, I would be more than a little bitchy.

I think I will spread that link if you don’t mind on my Facebook to my friends and family cause it does give a clear view of what’s going one. It’s not easy to read labels, it’s small and we aren’t chemist but we certainly want to know what we can buy for our own protection and for our children. That makes me so mad to see they put on shelves the worst case scenarios under the idea that you are protected. It’s fun to have a tan and the best way to know what’s the best for us humans is to have comparatives like this link to let us be aware and beware. We also need vitamin D in our lives. As I live in Canada, we have six months of winter. I take vitamin D3 every day in supplement. It keeps my bones healthy, away from the flu, cause we do need the good effect of the sun in our lives. Thanks for you to have found this link, it’s important.

Leave a Reply

Sapphire Maiden

Recent Posts

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

