Mohs on the Nose

18 Months Later

Posted on: November 21, 2011

It’s been 18 months since my surgery, and I’m pleased with my results. No one notices what’s left of my scar, and that’s a good thing.

To those of you about to have Mohs, try to relax and just go with it. The surgery is better than having cancer eat away at your face. If you have any questions, I’m happy to answer them. Any comments below are delivered to my email.

Good luck, and DON’T FORGET TO WEAR SUNSCREEN!

All Healed!

 

18 Responses to "18 Months Later"

Thanks so much for sharing your experience. I will be having Mohs surgery on October 3rd–also on my nose. I must admit I’ve been quite apprehensive but reading your blog and particularly this particularly one 18 months later puts me a bit more at east. Like you made clear it’s better than letter cancer eat away your face! Thanks again!

Apologies for the errors! Hit the send button before proofing!

So thankful for reading your blog & your pictures. You look great! I’m 42 & just have been scheduled for Mohs surgery on the tip of my nose. Terrified is putting it mildly.

Hi Mary,
I understand why you’re terrified, and I think that’s normal. There was another thing that helped me emotionally, and I didn’t mention it in the blog. My husband and I were in AZ a few years ago, and sitting in a restaurant a few tables from us was an older couple. The man did not have a nose!! Seriously, it was just a big hole in the middle of his face. Pretty shocking, actually. We know the skin cancer rate is high in that area, so we’ve always assumed that’s what it was. Fast forward to my surgery, after each layer was cut out, my husband would say, “Hey, at least you won’t look like that guy in Phoenix.” The good news is that our bodies heal quickly. It won’t even be a month after your surgery that your healing will be enough that you can be out and about without thinking about your nose. Be sure to report back here about how it went, OK?

I will, thanks. Mohs surgery is Sept. 26th, with plastic surgery the day afterwards. I bookmarked your blog so I can refer to it.

You look great & are definitely inspirational. I was encouraged when I saw your pictures & results.

I just had Mohs surgery on my nose last Thursday and I am so much more impacted by it than I thought i would be. Daily I have to remind myself that the cancer is gone and focus on that! I am so uncomfortable because I can’t find a way to bandage my nose that doesn’t irritate my skin. I knew I was sensitive to adhesive but the sensitivity on my face is so much greater. Did you experience this and if so what solutions did you find? It was helpful to read about your journey and I thank you!

Hi Jan, I don’t have any sensitivity to adhesives, so I didn’t have that issue. I thought the surgeons had access to tape for cases like yours:-/ Have you contacted your surgeon?

Dear Sapphire Maiden & Jan,

I just had my Mohs surgery done on my nose last Thursday too. I knew it would be a lot of skin taken off, & I was right. I had six stages done. The entire layer of my skin is off, but thank goodness, no cartilidge & my bone is still intact. This is just so unbelievable. I too, think of what you said, Sapphire Maiden, about “at least I still have a nose” & “it’s better than cancer eating away at my face”. What a horrible process. A skin graft was placed on my nose last Friday & bandages come off this Thursday. I don’t plan to look at my nose until a few weeks out – way too scared. The stitches are going to be a doozy, along w/ the scar, but the Dr. said the structure of my nose will be the same.

Sapphire Maiden, did you do any scar care, or laser treatments? Your nose looks really amazing, & I know you had to go back 4 x for Mohs.

Mary

Hi Mary!

Wow! Six layers??? I thought four were scary. But like you said, you still have a nose with its same structure. Mohs surgeons are like miracle workers, IMO. What they can do with reconstruction is just amazing. Like you, I didn’t want to see my nose when the bandage came off, but my curiosity got the best of me. I was glad, tho, that I did see it, because then I could see the improvement every day. As long as I could see that, I was OK.

No, I didn’t do any scar care or laser treatments. I started with some of those scar reducing pads but I decided they weren’t worth the hassle. In the end, I didn’t need them. That said, technology improves all the time, so the treatments might be better than when I needed them.

Hang in there, Mary and Jan. Keep reminding yourself that you’re cancer-free. This experience is just a blip on your radar, and you’ll be back to your old self quicker than you think. I know what a scary process this is, so when you feel the need for moral support, I’m here. 🙂

Hugs

Thank you so much for sharing your story. I’m 43, and had Moh’s on my nose yesterday. I, too, had many blistering sunburns on PC beach! Now I live in the Midwest and wear sunscreen religiously, but the damage is done. I could barely take care of my 3 year old today I felt so lousy, and was not expecting that at all. I just wish I could take a Rip Van Winkle nap for a few weeks and fast forward past this nasty recovery period.

I can’t imagine having to do anything but rest the first few days after my Mohs. It’s surgery, and it takes a toll. Is there anyone that can help you for a few days? You really need to concentrate on yourself right now. Not only does your nose hurt now, you’re under psychological stress. Anytime you have surgery on your face, I believe there’s a lot of stress involved. I hope you can find some help with your child and give yourself a bit of a break.

mam I saw your pic it is very overwhelming to see such image,actualy I hv my birtmark on my nose n I want to do plastic surgery
I had equires to few doctors but der corespond seem to be dull some told me dat ther wil scar or the colour wil not be match but as from your point of view ur surgery seem to be very good wit no scar
plz sugest me anything about surgery experiences I wil be very thankful to u

My scar is so slight, people don’t usually notice it unless I point it out. Even my doctors think the surgeon did an excellent job. I don’t know how a surgeon would remove your birthmark, but I’m pretty sure an *excellent* surgeon could do it. Word of mouth is usually the best way to find a good doctor/surgeon.

Sapphire Maiden, I came across your blog while searching for information about Mohs surgery on the top of the nose. I had the procedure done 4 days ago (4 stages) with primary closure with stitches of a quarter sized hole. I have a lot of swelling and bruising but I seem to be recovering well, but I noticed today that I have a soft lump inside one of my nostrils and am wondering if you experienced anything like this.

Hi, Debra! Yes, I did have that lump inside the nostril. In fact, it’s still there. There’s no pain involved, and no one can see it, so I don’t think about it. If you’re four days post-op, the worst is over for you. I think you’ll notice daily improvement in your healing process. Have a wonderful, CANCER-FREE holiday. 🙂

Thank you for the quick reply. Happy holidays to you as well!

Can you explain what the area on your nose initially looked like please, I have a spot on the end of my nose that peels for no reason at all, it does not itch, after it peels it looks like there is a tiny red spot in the center, so you have any photos of your initial spot?

Cathy, that’s exactly how mine started. It peeled for no reason, then it would clear up for a short while, then it would peel again. I knew it was a problem when, the last time it peeled, it also bled, and I couldn’t stop it. It finally scabbed over, and I made an appt. with my dermatologist. He did the biopsy, and it was basal cell. If I were you, I’d see my derm and ask him to freeze the spot. If, after it’s been frozen, it peels yet again, you should get a biopsy. Don’t wait as long as I did. The longer you leave it, the more it spreads under the surface. My Mohs surgeon described it as having roots that spread out. You can’t see it because it’s under the surface. You don’t want to need Mohs, and you definitely don’t want it to be as extensive as mine was. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Sapphire Maiden

Recent Posts

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

